The story behind the music video that shocked the world – Metal Hammer

“Well for me and the crew, we saw the finished video and thought it was funny. To us it was like comedy,” laughs Jonas Akerlund, remembering the media storm he found himself in back in 1997. His career ranges from drumming in Bathory to directing videos by Beyonce, but he still can’t escape being the guy who directed and conceived The Prodigy’s notorious Smack My Bitch Up Video. Even today, he’s not quite sure of why the controversy arose. “Maybe it’s because we are from Sweden and we are a little different over there, but I couldn’t see the controversial part of it. I mean I see it now, especially now living in America I get it. Even now when I go back to Sweden and see a naked person on the TV I go ‘Oh! A naked person!’ and then I realise I’ve been living too long in America. It was a ride, I said ‘Let’s go on a ride!’ and that’s what the video was. It might not be everyone’s idea of fun, you know fighting and shooting up, but…”

Source: The story behind the music video that shocked the world – Metal Hammer

Leave a Reply

